We’re Not All Afraid……..

I don’t want to get political on here, a blog dedicated towards raising children…And, I’m not here to persuade you, either. But, this blog’s objective (and my objective) is to encourage proactive, positive parenting in myself and others. Reflecting on how we are teaching, modeling, disciplining, loving, and raising our children makes us more aware and conscientious parents, and creates good kids.

So, I just cannot let others whom may be living in Europe, in Australia, South America, Africa (or wherever you are outside America reading this….yes, somehow that surprisingly happens) believe that all Americans are against bringing refugees into our country. It’s all over the news and someone like me who rarely watches the news has heard the headlines, the Governors in over half of our states declaring that we won’t accept refugees in. Some of them even go so far as to want to send them back, treating them less than human!

Do not believe that we are all so fearful, selfish, and hypocritical. Don’t think that all Americans are afraid of people we haven’t met or haven’t seen. Don’t believe that we are all greedy, heat-packing, angry Americans who think all Muslims are evil. And, don’t think for a second that we all call ourselves ‘Christians’ and want to turn our back on helping a ‘neighbor’. We don’t all feel this way.

I’m sorry. I’m sorry that we are leading our children to live in fear. I’m sorry that we aren’t willing to step up and share this free country. Like our gift from France,the Statue of Liberty, states:

Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!

I’m sorry that we aren’t doing our part. I’m sorry we often times choose to run away when people are suffering. I’m sorry that we aren’t doing more.

I really am so much so that I emailed Bridge, a refugee service in Knoxville, this week to inquire about if there are waiting families who need a sponsor right now and what kind of financial commitment is required upfront. If just a few of us took the time to help these resilient families assimilate and took the time to get to know them, we’d realize they aren’t terrorists. (anyone want to join me!?)

While browsing Facebook last night, I loved a post by a colleague about acceptance by children. I have to share Amy Holloway’s post:

Tales from counseling: during a class today, we were making a chart of things for which we are grateful. One girl raised her hand and said she was thankful to be Muslim. I wrote it on the board, and then I guess it caught other kids’ attention because they all started asking “What’s that?” I told them it was a religion. One boy asked “Like Jesus and God?” And the girl responded, “No, not Jesus. But yes, like God.” There was a collective “Ohhh!” and then they all got back to work and that was the end of that. I always love watching when my kids show unconditional tolerance and love for other kids.

If children were making the decisions, I think they would help and welcome displaced refugees. I believe most children keep their hearts open and are willing to get to know someone new, someone different. They usually act excited and go out of their way to help the new kid. I believe or want to believe that most children  accept people how they are, and don’t judge as quickly as seasoned adults typically do.

I want to always live with a child-like heart.

If you watch this and it doesn’t tug at your heart, then I don’t know what will. This world is in a crisis!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

