Reunion

I had the nicest surprise reunion at the post office this morning. Upon entering the door, I was greeted by a dear former student. This charasmatic boy moved to America in 3rd grade. He instantly made friends with his winning smile, positive attitude, and excitment for learning.

He was the only Hispanic child in a new-student, ESL friendship group  (but I think I’m the only one who noticed this)! The other kids, refugees, were all from the Middle East. But, the language and the cultural barriers didn’t stop this amazing group from quickly bonding. I was fortunate to be able to spend time with this funny crew for 30 minutes once a week. What wonderful memories I have from our time together, despite the mediating I sometimes had to do. But, this short, bright-eyed boy, A., got along with everyone!

And based on the greeting I got today from this middle school boy, I’d say he must have good memories too. This cute boy ran up as soon as our eyes met and he gave me a BIG hug. He immediately asked me how Pond Gap, his Alma matter was. He was surprised when I told him I wasn’t there anymore but he continued to chat about being “excited about Tcaps coming up”. (Who is this kid?! A hug from the middle school boy and he’s excited about school?!) He’s playing soccer and loves school. What a great kid, destined to do great things.

When he was at Pond Gap, this same group did the talent show when they sang THAT’S WHAT MAKES YOU BEAUTIFUL! A.was the lead singer that stole eveyone’s hearts with his winning dance moves! They are beauty to me.

The appreciation and excitement this kid has for living is contagious. One would never know he moved from Columbia just a couple years back as he quickly tested out of ESL class. He is outstanding, and it made my day to see he’s still got his glow. I think he kind of shared it with me today.

“Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.”- BUDDHA

This quote sits by my bedside. It was the card from the first bouquet of flowers that Bo ever sent me. And, it’s so true. Happy to have crossed paths with A. today. He came to give me one more hig before I left; he made my day just a little brighter!

#thisismyAmerica

#immigrantsandrefugeeswelcomehere

#awesomekids

Leave a Reply

